Lake Lavon Fishing
HomeForumHelpSearchLoginRegister
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 23, 2017, 04:52:21 PM

Pages: [1]   Go Down
Newbie question  (Read 1579 times)
Minnow

First, I want to thank whoever is responsible for creating this forum.

I am relatively new to Texas and will be fishing Lavon tomorrow for the first time. This will be my first time on the lake and I was wondering if anyone would be willing to give me some tips for finding crappie this time of year. I assume they are in the shallows right now. I have a pontoon and my preferred crappie fishing method is tightlining with minnows, but I'm not opposed to other avenues such as jigs. Any and all help would be appreciated. Since I live in Fate, I am planning on launching at Lavonia.

Top Bottom  

LLF Fishing Addict

Sure do like that THUMP!

Try jigs in timber
8' then 10', then 12' etc. til u find them

Good luck and welcome to the forum!

Top Bottom  
Minnow

Thank you!

Top Bottom  

LLF Fishing Addict

Sure do like that THUMP!

You bet.
Also try "Hancock's Guide Service" on FB.
Or any guide post.

Or TFF - Jerry will usually graciously post depth and structure on Lavon. He guides/fishes for crappie 3-4+ times per week on lavon.

Like this one...
http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/topics/12183696/Lavon#Post12183696

Good luck out there!

Top Bottom  

LLF Fishing Addict

Sure do like that THUMP!

Also, be sure and check the wind forecast. That will dictate where you can fish.
Mallard Cove has a ramp and is generally protected from all directions and has all depths to fish.

McKinney aviation website is usually very accurate.
http://www.usairnet.com/cgi-bin/launch/code.cgi?sta=KTKI&model=avn&state=TX&Submit=Change+Location

I would not want to be out there on Saturday...    icon_rolleyes icon_frown icon_mrgreen